Monday, May 18, 2009

Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford

Crawford has quite a debut novel in Carter Finally Gets It. This is the funniest novel I have read since, Doug MacLeod's I'm Being Stalked by a Moonshadow from over a year ago. Will Carter is entering his freshman year in high school and is trying really hard to get everything right. Carter has attention deficit disorder and occasionally stutters, though usually only around attractive girls. Like most new freshman, Carter is not certain how to act or what to expect and his lack of concentration makes it worse.

Carter's adventures throughout the school year are hilarious. Carter tries out sports, the theatre and avoiding embarrassing nicknames. He narrates the story and includes all of the gory details. Carter is really introspective and he grows greatly throughout the book. This novel is packed with jokes and witty language. Carter experiences his first girlfriend, first high school party and first time driving a humongous pickup truck. Carter's parents are also realistically drawn as they can't help worrying about their son.

Crawford writes in a clear style and yet still captures Carter's confused thoughts. While I'm sure some more superb teen fiction will be published this year, I can't imagine that this won't be among my favorites of '09. This is a brilliant debut by Brent Crawford. Fans of Jordan Sonnenblick and Chris Crutcher should enjoy this novel as well.


back to main page

3 comments:

Doret said...

I loved this book. When Carter showed off his dance skills by feeling the music for theatre tryouts, I laughed so hard. Its a great cover ( the warning sticker is a nice touch) and title, as well. I picked it up as soon as it came in.

Trevor said...

Just finished this one a couple weeks ago too! I haven't laughed this hard in a loooong time -- the scene with Carter and Abby in the movie theater on their first date couldn't be funnier! I mean, the "ninja spin fart"? Come on! It's literary GOLD!

Doret said...

LMAO @ ninja spin fart. A co-worker read it as well, and we can go back n forth for a good while about all the funny parts.